Felarya
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Felarya

Felarya forum

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Dryad Self-Fertilization?

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
itsmeyouidiot
Marauder of the deep jungle
Marauder of the deep jungle
itsmeyouidiot

Dryad Self-Fertilization? Empty
PostSubject: Dryad Self-Fertilization?   Dryad Self-Fertilization? Icon_minitimeSat Apr 14, 2012 7:36 pm

Right now I'm studying plants in biology class, and we're learning about the life cycles of Spermatophytes, seed producing plants.

Spermatophytes consist of two different sub-groups, angiosperms, which reproduce using flowers, and gymnosperms, which reproduce using cone structures.

All trees, of course, are spermatopytes. Conifers and Cycads are gymnosperms that reproduce with cones, and trees like maple and oak reproduce with flowers.

What's the catch here? Most spermatophytes contain both male and female reproductive structures. Angiosperms usually have flowers with both the male stamen and the female carpel, and gynosperms usually have both male and female cones.

Because of this, spermatophytes can either cross-pollinate, i.e. receive pollen from another same-species for fertilization, or they can self-pollinate and fertilize themselves.

So my question here is, what does this imply for dryads in Felarya? If it works the same way, than that means dryads, despite being aesthetically female, are actually both genders at once. Not only that, any one dryad would have either two parents who cross-pollinated, or a single parent that self-pollinated.
Back to top Go down
Anime-Junkie
Loremaster
Anime-Junkie

PostSubject: Re: Dryad Self-Fertilization?   Dryad Self-Fertilization? Icon_minitimeSat Apr 14, 2012 8:11 pm

I suggest reading the wiki in future. The dryad reproductive system has already been laid out.