Felarya
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Felarya

Felarya forum

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

A Long Absence, and rethinking Career Directions

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Siafu789
valiant swordman
valiant swordman
Siafu789

A Long Absence, and rethinking Career Directions Empty
PostSubject: A Long Absence, and rethinking Career Directions   A Long Absence, and rethinking Career Directions Icon_minitimeThu May 01, 2008 8:45 pm

I surprised myself by how long I have been away; wrapped up in college related stresses, this place escaped my mind. While I have kept up with Karbo's work, I find myself far behind a number of happenings in the Felarya community-apparently the Prey sector is getting a bit too big for its britches. Wink

I've mentioned being an engineering student a number of times-well, I was an engineering student. A number of weeks ago, my dad and I talked about my major, and whether or not I was really enjoying it. In all truth, my real passion was in philosophy and writing-in that order. When I was in 10th grade, my biggest ambition was to be a writer: I gave up on my dream after hearing either the sheer difficulty or impossibility of being published; and how liberal arts degrees are worthless in the eyes of employers. After a while this disillusionment turned into outright disdain for writing as little more than a time consuming hobby-so, I fell into the popular trap of hating liberal arts. I focused on engineering, because it's one of the highest arts in a way-the world as my tapestry. Going through engineering made me realize how out of my element I was. I just couldn't keep up with the Calculus.